• English

University of Idaho

A Legacy of Leading

The University of Idaho (officially abbreviated UI, but commonly referred to as the U of I) is the U.S. state of Idaho's oldest public university located in the city of Moscow in Latah County in the [northern portion] of the state. UI is the state's land grant university and primary researchuniversity. It enrolls more national merit scholars than all other institutions in the state combined. In January 2012, the university enrolled the highest number of National Merit Scholars of any school in the Northwest; more than the other flagship institutions in the region with significantly larger enrollments. The University of Idaho was the state's sole university for 71 years, until 1963, and hosts the University of Idaho College of Law, which was established in 1909, accredited by the ABA in 1925, and remained until 2012 the only law school in the state. (Concordia University School of Law opened its doors in Boise in the fall of 2012.)

The university was formed by the territorial legislature of Idaho on January 30, 1889, and opened its doors on October 3, 1892 with an initial class of 40 students. The first graduating class in 1896 contained two men and two women. The university presently has an enrollment exceeding 12,000, with over 11,000 on the Moscow campus. The university offers 142 degree programs.


  • College of Agricultural and Life Sciences - (renamed 2001, formerly Agriculture)
  • College of Art and Architecture
  • College of Business and Economics
  • College of Education
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Graduate Studies
  • College of Law
  • College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences
  • College of Natural Resources 
  • College of Science